h1

My Very Own Cookbook

May 3, 2011

 

Last visit to my grandmother’s house I brought her some easy (but delicious) no bake cookies.  She instantly knew that this was one of her old recipes and that I had put my own ‘twist’ on. She went into her office and brought out a stack of recipe clippings, photocopies and hand written recipe cards. She searched for the recipe that, over 20 years ago, my uncle entered and had published in the local newspaper. Unfortunately she couldn’t find it (offering that it was probably in another recipe pile). This made me think that if she had a recipe binder similar to mine than she wouldn’t be frustrated trying to find exactly what she knows is somewhere.

I have been adding to this binder for years, upgrading from a ½” binder to a 1” and now a 2”. Starting out,  I took a plastic sleeve with a piece of white paper (or a recycled piece  from the shedder placed backwards) and placed any recipes I received in it. The plastic sleeve is great because it is easy to wipe off kitchen splatters. As I built up my recipe collection I started organizing them into categories much like a cookbook would be (Breakfast, Bread/Rolls, Soup/Salad, Dips/Appetizers, Vegetable Sides, Desserts and Cookies/Brownies).  

The best thing about this book is that I can clip recipes I think I’ll like from the various magazines I subscribe to and pass the remaining magazine content along to someone else who will do the same. Once I have made the recipe if it’s a keeper I will make a quick note on it or take it out if it wasn’t any good.

It might seem like alot of work but it is totally worth it. I hope this will help you organize your recipe pile so that you can find everything you know you have and enjoy new recipes that come your way.

Above is my Gammies recipe. I usually add the peanut butter to the  hot mixture after I take it off the stove and let it melt in before pouring it over the oats and adding the vanilla. I use a tablespoon sized spoon to scoop the cookies on a lined cookie sheet to harden in the freezer before transferring them to a airtight container, but you can make them whatever size you want. 🙂

3 comments

  1. Elysee, you will have to go through Mom’s recipes and mine the next time you are at the house. You just might find that yummy recipe.

    Love always.


  2. I have been drooling over this book since you first showed it to me! And on a regular basis I think to myself I should do a binder like yours because I have a whole bunch of random recipes just floating around on my recipe book shelf!


  3. I agree 100%



Leave a Reply

