h1

Welcome to the Ladies

May 18, 2011

Last summer I had the difficult decision; I was 7 months pregnant and didn’t know if I wanted to commit to caring for a vegetable garden. I couldn’t decide between decreasing the size of the garden be more manageable or joining a CSA (Community Shared Agriculture) where I would  receive a vegetable box from a local farm weekly. In the end I cut my vegetable garden in half, it went from a 20X60 plot to a 20X40. It was the right decision because I really enjoyed my time in the garden and had no problem working in it, in fact I spent 3 hours in it the day before Thomas was born.

This summer I wanted to do something in the unused portion of my garden, which Brad grassed in last year. I decided it would be a perfect spot for a small chicken coop. I always wanted a coop but could never convince Brad it was a good idea.  For some reason this year he agreed! It took him 2 weekends to build the coop and it is awesome!!

Brad hard at work

We decided on a ‘condo’ style coop with a raised hen house and caged in pecking and grazing area. The hen house has 2 laying boxes and a roosting perch. The entire coop can be moved so that once the bottom gets dirty we can shift it over and rake up the mess.

Teddy checkin' it all out

 Our Girls arrived yesterday. We decided on 1 fullsize Redstar and 2 bantam buff brahma hens. They were a little scared when they first arrived but seem to have settled in quite quickly.

In the hen hosue

I read that it may take up to 2 weeks for them to start laying but to my surprise both times I went to the coop today I found an egg.  2 beautiful, perfect, wonderful eggs!!

3 comments

  1. very cool! they are cute, mom


  2. I like egg salad sandwiches & am looking forward to trying your home made bread & home grown eggs.


  3. Wow…I am envious! I would love to do something like this in my backyard!

    I found you over at SouleMama and wanted to invite you to join in the 52 Weeks of Happiness. It’s a weekly carnival that I host every Tuesday in which I am challenging the blogosphere to scout out joy in their life for one year. All you do is post a photo of something that makes you wildly happy and then tell us all about it.

    Here is a link to this week’s carnival if you want to see what it’s all about. Perhaps you could join us next Tuesday?

    http://leighvslaundry.blogspot.com/2011/05/52-weeks-of-happiness-week-11.html



Leave a Reply

