h1

52 Weeks of Happiness: Week 7

July 5, 2011

Happiness is local farmers!! Our farmers market has finally started bringing in a good selection of veggies, my favorite time of year!!! If I can’t grow it myself, I will happily buy it from someone in the area. So far we have had potatoes, peas, carrots, lettuce and beet greens… YUM!! I’m not sure how they’re doing it, my garden it looking pretty sad right now, I keep telling myself as soon as it gets hot and sunny everything is going to take off… we’ll see, if not I always have my farmer friends to supply me with beautiful and delicious organic fruit, veggies and meat.

It was beautiful tonight, the perfect weather for working outside… a perfect night for strawberry picking. Every year I go to the same U-Pick; it is well maintained, employs local summer students, is owned by a family from my school and has the most perfect strawberries in the land!

It was warm and had a breeze, not too hot and NO bugs. We picked for about an hour and got three large bowls (another great thing, bring your own containers and pay by weight).
I have a mental list of strawberry treats and preserves to be made, and am looking forward to some auntie/baby play time so I can spend some uninterrupted time in the kitchen.
** Please excuse the poor photo quality, I forgot my camera and these were taken with a cellphone camera.
 
One comment

  1. Love fresh strawberries.



Leave a Reply

